The Journey

It has been more than a week since I have posted, sorry!

As I said before, it was a very hectic first week and I am still not settled into my actual house yet, but I finally have wi-fi so I can blog!

Wednesday last week my mom and I drove up to O’hare and met my dad up there because he had to move my brother into college in the city. My mom came into the airport with me to make sure my baggage wasn’t over weight and we said our goodbyes. At the gate I met up with Alexa, from Wisconsin, who I knew from a Rotary conference. She was also exchanging to Sweden, so we knew that we would be traveling together.

IMG_3067_Snapseed

goodbye Chicago!

We had a 7 hour plane ride to Amsterdam. It wasn’t too bad, and the airplane food was actually pretty good! When we got to Amsterdam we had about a 3 hour layover there. I think that the Amsterdam airport is very nice! They had this relaxing area that looked and sounded like you were in a rain forest. They also had an outdoor area that was all green. It was great to get some fresh air and nature after being on a plane for so long.

IMG_3095_Snapseed

When we were getting ready to land we had a beautiful sunrise in Amsterdam

IMG_3104_Snapseed

Amsterdam!

sweden 001_Snapseed

Alexa in the So Goon Dutch sign

IMG_3106_Snapseed

Tulips in Amsterdam

sweden 004_Snapseed

The rain forest area and Alexa eating a poptart

sweden 010_Snapseed

sweden 008_Snapseed

sweden 014_Snapseed

sweden 013_Snapseed

The outdoor area of the airport in Amsterdam

In Amsterdam we saw another exchange student at the gate, Ryan from Idaho. A little while later Annalise, from Seattle, came too. My travel agent had arranged for us to all meet up together which is part of the reason that my travel had been delayed. We all became friends almost instantly I think, which is one of the best parts of being a Rotary exchange student. I sat next to Alexa on the plane ride from Amsterdam to Stockholm. She was very nervous to meet her host family but I was super excited.

I met up with my host family at the Arlanda airport in Stockholm well and all of my luggage came (I was so worried it wasn’t going to after hearing stories of past students).

The next post will be about my first day in Sweden but this is all I have time for right now! Hopefully I will have a chance to write more later today. Either tonight or tomorrow I move into my host moms house so it will be busy once again!

Hej då

One thought on “The Journey

Leave a Reply

