Sight-seeing in Stockholm

I Finally have time to finish writing about my trip to Stockholm over fall break!

I am going to pick up where I left off after the last post, about the changing of the Royal Guards.

At the end of the changing of the guards at the Royal Palace we met up with Jocelyn, who is also from Canada, who we knew from language camp! We had all decided to spend the day together sight-seeing, as she was in Stockholm for the weekend with her host family.

We were pretty hungry from chasing the guards around the whole palace so we decided to all get something to eat. After walking around Gamla Stan for awhile looking for a place to eat at, we decided to go to Vapiano’s because it’s just so amazing. Emily and I ate there with a bunch of other exchange students the night after I arrived to Stockholm also.

Rikstelefon in Gamla Stan

hostlov-281

hostlov-280

Chicken Carbonara with bacon from Vapiano’s

IMG_4728

After a pretty long lunch we got onto the sightseeing. We decided to take one of those sight-seeing buses, which was stupid because we probably didn’t really need to take one, but oh well!

Here’s some pictures from Gamla Stan

hostlov-282

hostlov-283

hostlov-284

hostlov-285

hostlov-287

hostlov-288

hostlov-289

hostlov-291

and some pictures from when we took the tourist bus

hostlov-292

hostlov-293

The above two pictures are from downtown Stockholm, where we walked the first day, around Kungsträdgården/Strömgatan.

Underneath are all from Södermalm which is translated to Southern rock. You can definitely see a difference between Södermalm and Gamla Stan. Södermalm is considered the “Working-class district”.

hostlov-296

hostlov-297

hostlov-298

hostlov-299

hostlov-300

We got off the bus because we decided to go to a museum.

hostlov-301

hostlov-303

hostlov-304

hostlov-306

The view was impeccable from where we were nearly at the northern edge of the island but on top of the rocks.

hostlov-309

hostlov-311

Jocelyn!

hostlov-312

Emily!

hostlov-314

hostlov-315

The Fotografiska Museet (Photography Museum, above) that we were headed to. The building used to be the tollway building back when they used to charge tolls to drivers that were going into Stockholm.

hostlov-316

hostlov-319

hostlov-321

hostlov-322

hostlov-323

We were on top of the rocks, like I said, so we had to take the stairs down to get to the Photography Museum.

Below are some pictures of the museum and my favorite pictures that were in the museum.

hostlov-326

hostlov-327

hostlov-328

hostlov-329

hostlov-330

hostlov-331

After we went to the Photography museum, Emily decided to take us to this tall building  in Södermalm that overlooks the downtown area of Stockholm. It was a short walk from where we were.

hostlov-332

hostlov-335

There are many large boats that take a sort of cruise to Helsinki.

hostlov-336

Below are pictures from the building. It had this cool bridge type of thing you could walk out on. There used to be an elevator that took you the 10 stories from the street but now you have to get up there from the inside of the building. This is also where Emily’s Rotary club has their meetings. We arrived to the top of the bridge, walkway, whatever you want to call it, right when the sun was setting.

hostlov-337Above is looking the way we walked from, with the big boat and Gröna Lund the amusement on the otherside of the water.

hostlov-338

haha Emily and Jocelyn

hostlov-339

above is more of Södermalm

hostlov-341A neon light up toothpaste ad on a building in Södermalm.

hostlov-342

The beautiful city.

hostlov-343

hostlov-344high

Bokeh city lights. (I thought it looked cool, I took them like that on purpose)

hostlov-348

hostlov-349

hostlov-351

hostlov-353

Here is the elevator I was talking about that they used to use to get up there.

hostlov-354

 I think that this night made me really fall in love with Stockholm.  It is so beautiful there, how could you not love it, and I could imagine myself living there when I was older. We’ll see what happens! I am still very in love with the mountains also. Even just looking at these pictures makes me want to go back to the cobblestone streets and amazing architecture.

After going up to the over-look Emily and I helped Jocelyn get back to the hotel her host family was staying at. Then Emily and I made a trip to the American Candy Store. Yes, that’s right, American! It is right by Emily’s school, so I am kind of jealous. I had been hearing about the store from Sam who I stayed with before, and was so excited to see what it had.

hostlov-361

hostlov-355

hostlov-356

hostlov-357

hostlov-358

hostlov-359

hostlov-360

It was heavenly, but not cheap. We still both ended up buying a bunch of candy,because when you see Pop-Tarts, HOW can you resist after not having them for 3 months. I don’t think anyone is that strong.

Even though I love the Swedish candy and food here, you still miss the familiar tastes of all of you favorite foods back home. I might even like the Swedish food and candy more than I like most American food, but that still doesn’t stop me from wanting a Reeces.

hostlov-363

The damage done above. I know for you American’s it doesn’t look like much, but it was expensive and I spent the last of my Rotary allowance on it.

After we bought the candy, we went back to Emily’s and spent our last night together eating our American and Swedish candy, and watched some movies!

It was honestly a perfect day! I know I say that about pretty much every day I was in Stockholm, but that’s because it truly was. I had so much fun and no problems what so ever while I was there, I met up with old friends and met new people!

The next post will be about my last day with Emily, then about my last days spent at Kate’s house! Almost done with these Höstlov posts! Then you can finally see what I have been doing since I have been back in Gällivare!

5 thoughts on “Sight-seeing in Stockholm

    1. haha sorry! It’s crazy that so many people from different countries read my blog. I always end up forgetting when I post and just generalizing everything for American’s. It’s hard when I have never been to Britain or many other places, so I obviously can’t really compare for myself, but I hope to visit Britain in the near future! But it is nice to have awesome followers like you who can input for my lack of knowledge! Thanks!

  1. OH MY GOODNESS! Where is this American Candy store? I heard of one in Uppsala but didn’t know there was one in Stockholm as well. Do they have cheeze whiz by any chance? It is a totally gross thing that my Swede doesn’t understand but that I love, love on toast in the mornings.

Leave a Reply

