Svensk Födelsedag

This blog post is dedicated to Jossan och Julan, because they keep telling me to post!

Earlier this month, I celebrated my first Swedish Birthday! My birthday was on Thursday, the 14th of November.

Tidigare denna månad, firade jag min första svensk födelsedag! Min födelsedag var på törsdag, 14de av november. 

IMG_5069

Morning Sky on my birthday/Morgon himmlen på min födelsedag.

The morning was just a normal day, and after my Swedish class, my Filipino friend, Bessie, and I went into Gällivare to have fika at Alla Tiders. It was Bessie’s 1 year in Sweden date too, so we kind of celebrated that too!

Morgon var bara en vanlig dag, och efter min svenska lektion, min filippinare vän, Bessie, och I åkte till Gällivare att ha fika på Alla Tiders. Det var Bessie’s ett år i Sverige även, så firade det också!

IMG_5071

So much vanilla cream sauce on my strawberry cheesecake!/ Så mycket vanilj sås på min jordgubbsostkaka!

After we had fika, we went and looked around at some shops.

Efter vi hade fikat, gick vi och tittade runt i några affärer.

IMG_5074

Bessie and I! I tried on this Dior lipstick that I am wearing in the picture above and I am obsessed with it, why does it have to cost so much!/ Bessie och jag! Jag provat på detta Dior läppstift att jag har på mig i bilden ovan och jag är besatt med det, varför kostar det så mycket!

When we had nothing else to do, we decided to both go home. When I arrived home my host sister Erica had come home from university, it’s always so fun when she is around! I was not allowed to go into or even look near the kitchen because my host mom and other host sister, Emma, were making my cake.

For dinner we ordered pizza from Alleman’s, I ate a pizza with bacon, ham, salami, and peppers.

När vi hade ingen ting att göra, vi bestämt till båda åkte hem. När jag kom hem min värd syster, Erica kom hem från university, det är alltid kul när hon är runt! Jag kunde inte gå i eller titta nära köket eftersom min värd mamma och andra värd syster Emma, laga min tårta. För middag äter vi pizza från Alleman’s. Jag åt en pizza med bacon, skinka, salami, och paprika.

IMG_5115

Presents!/ Klappar!

IMG_5116

The cake after I blew out the candles./ Tårtan efter jag blåste ut ljusen.

winter-games-028

IMG_5123

This bracelet came from my host mom’s side of my host family. Thank you Gunilla, Micke, Erica, Emma, Filip, and Emily!! ❤

The round charm just says the name of the brand on it, the heart says love, and they also bought a snowflake charm because of all the snow up here! I love it so much!

Emma also gave me a really big chocolate bar, she know’s me too well.

Min värd mamma och familj gav mig ett armband. Tack så mycket alla! ❤ Den runda charm just säger namn av varumärket på det, hjärtan säger love, och de köpt också en snöflinga eftersom vi har så mycket snö här. Jag älskar det så mycket! Också Emma gav mig en stor choklad, hon vet mig så bra.

Untitled-1

Erica and I were twinning on my birthday! We both had on the same olive green sweater from Monki, and dark red lipstick!

All my friends told me that I should have a birthday fika, so I planned on having it Friday, the day after my birthday. Friday after school, Erica picked me up and we went shopping for food for the fika. When we got home from the store she also helped me prepare the food!

Alla av min vänner berättade mig att jag skulle har en födelsedag fika, så jag plannerade att har det fredag, dagen efter min födelsedag. Fredag efter skola, Erica hämtade mig och vi åkte handla för mat för fiket. När vi kom hem hon också hjälpte mig fixade maten.

IMG_5133

IMG_5134

Erica made the Princess cake (Thank you again Erica), and I made cupcakes, puppy chow, and rice crispy treats. Some of you may not know what the last two are because they are American snacks. Puppy chow is Chex-mix cereal (in this case we used a similar type) with melted peanut butter and chocolate on top, then sprinkled with powdered sugar. Rice crispy treats are also made of cereal, Rice Crispys, and mixed with melted marshmallows. Maybe you also don’t know what Princess cake is (I ate it for the first time here, at a fika in Stockholm). Princess cake is two layers of vanilla cake and between the layers of cake is a layer of raspberry jam and vanilla sauce. It’s delicious.

Before my fika with my class friends, my other friends Matilda and Carin came over for a fika! They are both so nice, they brought me a giftcard to Kicks, the make up store, which was so kind of them! ❤

Innan min fika med min klassvänner, min andra vänner Matilda och Carin kom över för fika. De finns så fint, de gav mig en presentkort till Kicks, det var så trevligt av dem!

IMG_5138Here is a picture of my friends who came to the fika! You are all so sweet! You can also see the flowers some of them brought me sitting on the counter!

I was kind of surprised when they brought me presents, I wasn’t expecting anything!

Här är en bild av min vänner vem kom till fiket! Ni är så söt! Du kan också se blommer några av dem gav mig.

winter-games-006

IMG_5144

Half of them bought me this ring. It’s traditional to the north, called the Norrbotten ring. It is so nice, I love it so much!

winter-games-025

bday-009

The other half gave me this bracelet! It is also traditional to the north, it is a Sami/Lapland braided bracelet! The leather is made of reindeer skin and the button is made of reindeer antler. Definitely sounds like the lapland of Sweden to me! The leather is black, and the braiding is silver and purple! The purple really comes out under light.

winter-games-005

winter-games-023

winter-games-018

winter-games-032

What my shelf looked like after my birthday! It’s full now!

On Sunday of that week we also sort of celebrated my birthday at my host dad’s house.

bday-008

This pig wasn’t part of my present, my host dad got it for his high school graduation, and they are packing stuff to move houses soon and he didn’t want it and I thought it was cool! It has Swedish crowns on it and is the flag’s colors.

bday-003

bday-005

My host dad and his girlfriend Ingela gave me this Dala horse, which is symbolic for Sweden, although not so much the northern part. It is really nice and hand painted in a town here in Sweden. They also gave me a gift card for a cafe called Alla Tiders.

All of the jewelry I received was all very traditional/popular here in the north. My host family was joking with me that now I am really Swedish now! I love it so much!

I had an amazing birthday! It was so much fun and there was so much cake! I love that I was able to spend the time with my family and friends! Thank you everyone so much for everything, I really appreciate it so so much! All of the things you gave me I will keep my whole life and always remember you all every time I see them, even when I am thousands of miles away! I love all of you so much! ❤

Jag hade en underbart födelsedag! Det var så mycket kul och där var så mycket tårta! Jag kärlek att jag var kunde spendera tiden med min familj och vänner! Tack så mycket allom för allting, jag uppskattar verkligen det så så mycket! Alla de saker som du gav mig jag ska hålla hela livet och alltid minnas er alla varje gång jag ser dem, även när jag är tusentals miles away! Jag älskar ni så mycket! ❤

One thought on “Svensk Födelsedag

Leave a Reply

