Santa Lucia

On the 13th of December, Swedes usually gather at their local church for a tradition called Lucia.

Originally the Lucia tradition comes from Italy, but other than that, I don’t know of any other countries that celebrate it.

I joined the Lucia choir almost 3 months before the concert. It was a lot of hard work to be in the concert, as all of the lyrics were in Swedish, but I think it helped improve my Swedish and it was super fun to be a part of something that is a very Swedish tradition.

Santa Lucia brings light to everyone in the dark winter days. She is the bearer of light.

Friday, December 13th, we all gathered at the church in Gällivare and put on our full length white gowns, tied with red bows, and silver beads in our hair (the guys wore suits). We all had lit candles, and they turned down the lights in the church (and it was dark outside). It was very cozy, I think!

I was not able to see the concert, obviously because I was in it, so I don’t have many pictures from it.

lucia 039 luciaLucia was a very unique tradition to be a part of! I am very glad I did it, it was definitely work all the hard work in the end!

One thought on “Santa Lucia

  1. Actually celebrated in Norway, Denmark and Ostrobothnia (Swedish-speaking province in Finland) as well, hope you enjoy the Swedish Christmas!

Leave a Reply

