Fika

This post is very much overdue. I am not sure why I haven’t done it earlier, as everyone that doesn’t live in Sweden probably has no idea what fika is. I snapchat my friends back home pictures of ‘fika’ but they never know what I am doing. Even on here I know I upload pictures and caption them fika. So in this post I am going to take some time and explain what fika is, of course along with some pictures of fika.

IMG_4126

Fika is one of those words that doesn’t have an exact translation from Swedish to English. If you were to just literally define it, I would translate it as taking a coffee break.

IMG_4927

But for me fika is more than just taking a coffee with someone. When I first came to Sweden, I asked many people in my class to fika, and it was a great way to get to know them better and make new friends. It’s a great way of catching up with what’s been going on with someone else or just a nice way to relax and chat.

IMG_3350

You can take a fika at any time of the day. Sometimes we have fika between class breaks, or even during class. You can take a fika at a cafe, you can take a fika at home, you can take them after you go skiing. You can take one really anywhere. Normally fikas are pretty long, you don’t just eat and leave, you sit around and talk. The shortest fika I have taken has been an hour long and the longest was around 3. Also people have birthday fikas, usually one with their families and one with their friends.

IMG_5708

That being said, when you fika you get something to eat. You can get coffee, tea, soda, juice, really anything. You usually get something sweet to eat, like kladdkaka or a cinnamon bun, but you can also fika over smörgås (sandwiches).

IMG_4668

You can fika with you friends, and you can fika with your grandparents. There’s no age limit with fika, and it’s not just teenagers who do it. I believe that Sweden is the only country that has ‘fika’. I know for sure that Finland doesn’t have the term.

IMG_3963

Fika is probably one of my favorite things about my exchange here in Sweden!

IMG_5544

10 thoughts on “Fika

  1. All delicious! :))) In my country give to play with words and say FikaFat. :))
    I thought it was more on relax time at work. I was wrong. Now, I understand that it is for any situation is to talk with students, friends, family…
    Thanks!

  2. Every photo of the delicious food makes me wanna fika! 🙂
    I google translated the word fika into Dutch and it came up with the Dutch word for “different”… 😉
    Just read Ikea published a Fika cookbook a few years ago, available in English now too. Have you seen that?
    Or is it a no-no? 😀

  3. I love this idea of “fika” ! I’m certainly going to add it to my Italian coffee breaks and siesta’s!

Leave a Reply

