Uppdatering

It has been awhile since I have posted something on here. Everyone that reads this most likely knows that I switched host families last weekend, so I have been spending time with them and have taken a little break from posting. But now its time to get back on track! Today will just be an update for pretty much all of January.

IMG_5847

IMG_5848

My friend and I made some Kraft Mac & Cheese that my Aunt sent me awhile ago. The noodles are monster’s inc shaped.

IMG_5868

My friend KT from the States sent me a package! Thanks girl love you<3

IMG_5869

She sent me this chocolate covered Oreo and it was seriously the best thing ever (please send more).

IMG_5954

This is the cabin at the top of Dundret, Fjällstugan, where you can take a fika or escape from the cold while skiing. Quite often it is much warmer on the top of the mountain than it is in town.

IMG_5956

They have sandwiches, cinnamon rolls, and coffee and pop.

IMG_5949

My host dad and I went in the cabin because it was super foggy on top of the mountain.

IMG_5964

So foggy!

IMG_5967

IMG_5970

One day my friend Julia and I tried to go ice skating, but the ice was not very good to skate on. It was bumpy and we tried to clear it but we were unsuccessful.

IMG_5973

So instead we bought some candy and went back to my house to watch movies.

IMG_5978

My 2nd host sister, Julia, and I also met to go skiing on Dundret. This might get confusing because now I am referring to two different host families! Oh well, but hopefully everyone will get what I’m trying to say. This was while I was still staying with the Petterssons.

IMG_5980

IMG_5986

Julia took me on this slope called Pelikanstigen, which when cleared is not a hard slope to ski, but the first time she took me on it, it had about 6 inches of fresh snow. It was my first time skiing on a slope that hadn’t been groomed, so I fell more times then I would like to admit. All in all it was still fun though, I don’t mind falling, as long as I don’t get hurt it’s fun!

IMG_5998

IMG_6012

IMG_6014

We broke the gingerbread house we made traditionally some time after Christmas (I think it’s supposed to be 20 days after) and took down the Christmas tree at my host dads. This isn’t much of a tradition anymore but we held hands and danced around the Christmas tree taking it down, which was silly but fun.

IMG_6023

Had a little bit of a delay with the bus..

IMG_6026

Night skiing

IMG_6030

IMG_6037

IMG_6050

We are now getting a half hour more of sunlight every week, which is honestly great. During the days now it feels so much lighter, but right now it is still getting dark around 3.

IMG_6058

My host brother, Filip, turned 15!

IMG_6060

Emma made this super yummy cake, It was lemon with blueberries, ah soo good!

IMG_6072

This was just a late night fika we had. Looks like a big birthday fika but we had left over cake so I took it with to a friends house. After all Princess cake is my favorite!

IMG_6115

The other exchange student in my class from German, Celine, and I went skiing!

IMG_6121

Jasmine, who is a friend from class, and I took a fika at Alla Tiders. Kladdkaka is our favorite, yummm!

IMG_6135

The gang

IMG_6142

IMG_6144

IMG_6148

Dundret had a night they were open late (until midnight) so of course we had to go, even though it was -30C! It was a beautiful night and the sky was clear, we were skiing under the stars.

IMG_6152

You could also roast marshmallows, and there is a beautiful overlook of the city.

IMG_6153

wooo not expecting that flash

IMG_6156

IMG_6174

And as I have said before, I have moved! This is my new room. Not a very good picture, but I will have another post with some pictures of the house! It’s absolutely beautiful and I love it and my room and just everything!

IMG_6183

For the first dinner at my host we ordered pizza!

IMG_6198

Absolutely love the view from my new house

IMG_6205

Julia and I were bored so we played cards!

IMG_6219

I made chocolate chip cookies! They actually turned out good (not burnt) so I am proud and everyone liked them I think!

IMG_6208

IMG_6209

IMG_6212

The above three pictures are from the walk to the bus stop! Oh I love the sun!

IMG_6230

Played a board game with my host siblings!

IMG_6238

Friday night my host sisters and I decided to make dinner. We made lövbiff, which when I literally translated it in my head it is leaf beef, but I translated it on google and it is minute steak. It was sooo good, I can’t believe we made something so delicious!

IMG_6240

IMG_6241

We also made this kladdkaka with daim cream on top.. ahhh I was in heaven, I cannot live without chocolate and this cake might just be my new favorite.

IMG_6234

IMG_6281

Saturday, my host sister Fanny and I dyed our hair. Mine is just one shade lighter brown than before, not a big change but I like it for now!

IMG_6338

IMG_6340 IMG_6342

Also Saturday, we all went to the hospital where my host parents work. My host dad booked the gym for us and we played floor hockey and ping pong. It was a lot of fun!

IMG_6380

My favorite tea

IMG_6389

IMG_6372

Sunday was a skiing day with the whole family. Was a little cold out, but much warmer on top of Dundret. Was a beautiful day with some sunshine. I think this was the first time I had been to the top during the day when it wasn’t foggy. So I finally got to see the wonderful view!

IMG_6387

IMG_6386

Oh hey it’s me skiing! (and yes mom I still haven’t hurt myself)

IMG_6364

I live in one of the most beautiful places on earth 🙂 They say on a clear day you can see 1/11th of Sweden from Dundret.

IMG_6388

So yeah that has been most of January. Lots of skiing as you can tell, but still not enough! Can’t wait till it gets a little bit warmer and I can start going even more.

4 thoughts on “Uppdatering

  1. We love this post!!!!!
    Many photos with beautiful scenery and very moreish sweets. And pizzas too! 🙂

    Questions …. as usual… :)))
    The photos were taken in Dundret what time of day?
    In Dundret can rent equipment for skiing?
    Where was the photo taken from the bus?
    The pizza is in the upper right corner with reindeer meat? And the bottom one is with arugula(rucula)?
    In the hospital there is a gym? 🙂

    Thanks, Sabrina, for one more post!

    1. The photos taken on Dundret were from 12-3 all of the ones that weren’t taken at night 🙂

      Yes at Dundret you can rent skiing and snowboarding equipment for downhill skiing.

      The photos were taken walking to the bus station near my house.

      Yes reindeer pizza and I’m actually not sure what the other one is!

      And finally yes the hospital does have a gym and if you work there you can book time there and I guess they also have a very nice sauna. I just found out about it actually!

Leave a Reply

