100:e inlägg

It’s been a crazy month since I last did anything with this blog. I feel really bad for neglecting it, but once I went home, I obviously wasn’t in Sweden anymore and my blog got put on the back burner. Things have finally slowed down a bit since I left Sweden, and my thoughts came back to this blog. How much I enjoy sharing pictures and experiences on it. Yesterday night I was reading through old posts from when I started my blog. It was a wonderful revelation to see how I grew, learned, and even to see my Swedish improving. It made me both happy and sad viewing the pictures of my home away from home. I miss it of course, but I am excited for my future as well. I spent an amazing year there, that will always be in my memories, it will always be a special place for me. I grew so much as a person, more than I probably realize. Well, I had no intention to get sappy on here, so let’s steer to my point here.

The exciting news is that I have moved! It was a little bit of a spur of the moment decision. I went back and forth between my options for awhile and decided on taking another adventure. It just felt right to do, I didn’t want to sit back at home. Once I had a taste for what’s out there, how on Earth could I go back to “normal life”. I would have been miserable at home and I know it. So now here I am, back in Europe, in Budapest of all places. I’m playing competitive ice hockey and working on getting my EU citizenship (I have the right by blood to get my Hungarian citizenship). If someone told me a year ago when I was leaving for Sweden, that I would be back in Europe again so fast, I wouldn’t have believed them. The only word I have for it is crazy.

As for how it’s going, I would say pretty well. I haven’t played hockey in over a year, I’m super rusty and that means the practices are kicking my ass. But I have better opportunities here in Europe than I had in the States. We took a team trip to Slovenia, walked 120km. It was 3/4ths living hell, 1/4th paradise, but I’ll touch on that later. I’m enjoying this whole being independent thing more than I probably should. I like living by myself most of time, exploring this lively city, starting to learn the basics of a new language and culture (one that is my own I may add).

The only thing that sucks about this situation is the time I was able to spend in the States. I was home home (in Illinois, this whole home thing is getting confusing) for what, about two weeks. The timing was awful. I wasn’t able to see most of my friends, they were either on vacation or I was with family, busy, or sick. After a year of waiting to see all of your beautiful faces, I now have to wait even longer. But I feel relived that even though there is so much time and distance between us, we can still be friends. Maybe not in the same way as if I were there, but it kind of is what it is. I’ll always be here for you guys.

I spent most of my time home with family. Which was so comforting. Yet the time wasn’t really enough, and it never gets easier to leave them. Being here I lose spending time with my family. Which is sad thinking about I guess, and maybe I’m making it sound more depressing than it actually is. I think being away for a year really made me appreciate them even more. But I know that they’ll always be supporting me even if they aren’t on the same continent as I am.

Without making it too long, there’s a little update. I’ll try to finish the rest of my Eurotour posts, thank god I wrote down everything that happened or I would be so lost. In the meantime I will be thinking of a name for a new blog. I can’t keep posting on here, as I am unfortunately not taking Sweden anymore. To be honest I probably would’ve started a new blog already if I had a catchy name. No name will ever beat the name of this blog.

{by the way, this is my 100th post! So happy I was able to keep up this blog throughout my exchange year}

mycket kärlek ❤

4 thoughts on “100:e inlägg

  1. I can only say: WOW! 🙂
    OK, and some more maybe.
    Wow on your 100th post! Good on ya. It’s always a pleasure to read your updates and see all the pictures that go with the stories 🙂
    Wow on your short visit in the US.
    And WOW on your move to Budapest! How did you do that in such a short time?

    If I’m too nosy, let me know, but are you there on another sort of exchange or scholarship or something?
    I hope you find the time and inspiration to write about another superb adventure.
    And if not, that can only mean you’re enjoying yourself and spending your time on other good things 🙂
    Whichever it will be, make the most of it, enjoy and take care!

    1. Awe thank you 🙂
      I’m not sure how I managed it in such a short time actually, and somehow it worked out pretty flawlessly, just a miracle!
      No it’s fine, I am not on an exchange, I am completely by myself here. My grandfather is Hungarian, so I am here working on getting my EU residency. And I also wanted to come back to Europe, this was a way to make it happen!
      Thank you so much for all your kind comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

