Dresden- part 1

Hej hej hej!

Two nights ago, I got back from visiting Celine, who if you’ve been a follower of my blog for some time, you would know we were both exchange students at the same time in Gällivare, Sweden. We were even in the same media class! So it was great to see her again after 6 (!!!) months! Time sure does fly. Feels like it was just a few weeks that I had been away from her.

DSC_6452s

I took the train to Dresden, passing through Bratislava and Prague on the way, along with a bunch of smaller towns in-between. The train ride was 9.5 hours, quite long, but it wasn’t as bad as you are probably imagining. Before I knew it I was there and back.

The week I spent in Dresden was one I will remember for quite some time! Celine introduced me to all of her friends, and they were some of the sweetest people ever! I spent New Year’s Eve with a bunch of her friends as well. Which was an exceptionally fun night. Drinking wine and amaretto, playing poker, lighting off fireworks (not in that specific order!).

DSC_6347sCeline was a great host. She always had something planned for us to do, whether it was taking a coffee with one of her friends or walking around the town. Dresden is beautiful. The buildings have so much charm and I feel like they come straight out of some kind of fairytale.

DSC_6341s dresden1sAbove is my favorite picture from the trip. The lighting was perfect and it looks like it’s a painting! Surreal!

The days we decided to walk around Dresden were some of the coldest days. Maybe in these pictures the temperature doesn’t look bad, and it was only around -7C. But somehow I was still freezing. Other then that my time spent there was so much fun!

Below are some pictures of the main square. Scroll over to see the caption. Click to enlarge 🙂

Dresden isn’t that big, nearly 530,000 people live there. It’s the perfect quaint little European city. All of my new German friends are asking when I will be back, so I definitely want to return sometime soon! I’m sure the city flourishes during the summer too, so I would like to see that side of it as well!
DSC_6377sDSC_6379sDSC_6381sThis church is called Frauenkirche in German. It is kind of the center piece of the town square. It’s a beautiful building inside and out. However just by looking at it you wouldn’t know that it was bombed in World War 2. It’s unfortunate that it had to go down like that, but what can you do, you can’t change history.

It’s always a little awkward when we talk about our countries’ past, specifically about the War. Obviously, neither of us had any choice of what was going on then, but in the moment you can’t help but be a little angry. Wait but your people burned down this building! Yeah well, it wasn’t completely without reasoning after all, your people killed millions of innocent people. Then we realize what were saying and put it to peace.

Anyways, they rebuilt this church. Two of the corners of the building (the black ones), are the remains of the ‘old’ church.

Above were some pictures of the Academy of Fine Arts, which is located just outside of the central square. The buildings for the campus are really nice. Celine wants to go to university there, so of course she had to show it to me!

And lastly some pictures of the castle (Residenzschloss) and the palace (Zwinger)! The Zwinger is another one of Celines favorite spots, especially to sit on the steps in the summer. Adding it to my to do list!

That’s it for the meantime. I have more pictures from Dresden, and that day when we took pictures we had a nice blanket of snow 🙂 So it’s giving a little bit different perspective of the city during winter!

Yesterday, I arrived in Málaga, Spain. A teammate and I decided to take a semi-spontaneous vacation. I never want to stop traveling.

More updates soon! Adiós 😉

2 thoughts on “Dresden- part 1

Leave a Reply

