Budapest Christmas Markets

Christmastime has come and gone, but that doesn’t mean I can’t share some pictures, right? As it usually gets around the holidays, I had so much other stuff on my mind that I didn’t think of posting earlier. Buying presents, eating gingerbread cookies, watching Christmas movies. The real important things, you know.

Anyways, thought I needed to share how my lovely city looks during the holiday season.

In Budapest there are a few markets. They aren’t anything big, but they are cozy and aren’t exhausting to walk around. The main market is at Vörösmarty tér. There is also a stretch of booths running down a shopping street from Deák tér (the main square in Budapest) to Vörösmarty tér.

Some pictures of Vörösmarty tér at night:

Another market in Budapest is the one at St. Stephan’s Basilica. They even have a cute little skating rink with the fake plastic ice. Again, the market isn’t that big, but I think it’s less stressful this way. The Basilica is only a few blocks away from Deák tér and Vörösmarty tér so it was easy to hit up both of the markets at the same time.

DSC_6141sAnd last a picture of the Opera House.

The walk from the markets to my apartment is not very long. The weather in Budapest in mid-December was lovely, a light winter jacket worked well! Plus with all the pretty Christmas lights, how could I not choose to take the long way home? Besides the Christmas lights, this is the “shopping” street. It’s like Budapest’s Michigan Avenue, but not quite the same 😉 All of the expensive name brand stores are on this street, like Burberry and Louis Vuitton. So it is always fun (at least I think it is) to window shop and look at all of the pretty things I can’t afford.

I hope everyone had a great Christmas. 🙂 I am going to post soon about my Hungarian Christmas, that I spent with my hockey teammate in her town Győr.

Leave a Reply

