Dresden- part 2

The week I spent in Dresden, I felt like I was home. Surrounded by some cool friends, frozen pizza, and cats.

It snowed for the last few days while I was in Dresden. What was starting to feel like a real winter for me disappeared when I left Dresden to go back to Budapest. Then, even more when I left Budapest for a week to go to Spain. Now I’m back in Budapest waiting for any sign that it is winter. It’s +8 Celsius/46 Fahrenheit, I guess I shouldn’t complain too much 🙂

This slightly less cold day, we met up with some friends and walked around town. We visited a place where the artist Canaletto painted one of the famous views of Dresden. If you want to see the original paintings just google ‘Canaletto Dresden’.

Unfortunately, this was the only group picture that turned out okay. Sometimes it’s really hard to give your camera to someone else and get a good picture, especially if they’ve ever used a DSLR before. Now, I’ve learned to go stand where I want the photo taken, adjust it to my likings, then ask someone to take the picture for me. My camera (as well as my old one), hates focusing on people in automatic mode. At least we got one picture together that is semi-good!

We had some chill nights hanging out, eating junk food, and watching movies. One night a few friends and I went out so I could experience the night life in Germany. It’s actually quite weird because, if you are under 18 (which is the legal drinking age for hard liquor and to gain entrance into clubs in Germany), you can still go to the club with parents permission. You also need someone over 18 to claim they will ‘watch out’ for you throughout the night. All you need is them to sign a paper and give it to the bouncer. I never heard of this before so to me it was a surprise. In the club I also thought there were also more students and youth then I normally experience going out, though there were some older people as well.

Celine’s room also has this super cool wallpaper, that makes it look like you’re in the forest. I love it! It served as a good photo backdrop.

One of the days we also went ice skating. Which for me was funny to watch everyone else try to ice skate!

Last but not least, I got to spend one of my last days in Dresden celebrating New Year’s! Was undoubtedly my favorite night in Dresden. We made a homemade dinner, played games, set off fire works. A few people even taught me how to play poker, which I’m pretty stoked about, even though I lost all my chips during the game! I may not be the best yet, but I’m going to practice so that next time I’m in Dresden I can win at poker!

We stayed up the whole night of New Years somehow. Well I can’t say I completely did, I’m pretty sure I fell asleep on the couch for a bit. Even if it was in 30 minute intervals, being woken up every once and awhile because people thought it would be funny.

hearts 2015sI couldn’t think of a better way to bring in the New Year. Celebrating with people I barely knew, who turned into instant friends. I felt like an exchange student all over again, which made me think about some goals for 2015. To keep experiencing new cultures, stay curious, try new things, learn new languages, make new friends. All of which I did a little of this night.

2014 was a great year, surely one I’ll never ever forget. From my last 6 months living in Sweden, my summer traveling Europe with 70 exchange students, my decision to move to Budapest where I have been the remaining 5 months of my year, and will be continuing to live in 2015. In this year I’ve learned a few languages, or tried to at least. Fell in love with a few new cultures. Learned quite a bit about myself as a person, and had the opportunity to be doing things I never imagined I would be able to do.

Some more goals I have for 2015 are: learn how to cook better, try to eat less sugar (if you know me you know I love sugar, so this is going to be a tough one), try to shop less/ live with less, work on my photography skills more, keep up with the news better, read more in Swedish so I don’t lose the language, be more persistent while studying Hungarian, learn something new, work on getting my pilots license (something I’ve always been interesting in doing). My last big goal is to enjoy what I have, live in the now, and don’t worry about the future.

I probably will try to keep adding onto this list, but for now these are my goals for 2015 and forward 🙂

3 thoughts on “Dresden- part 2

Leave a Reply

