Barceloneta Beach & Ciutadella Park

Ah, finally, I am back in Budapest for a bit. I feel like I have so much to do, so by nature what do I do? Nothing, absolutely nothing. Just hanging out with friends and watching series.

What feels like an eternity ago was my trip to Barcelona, yet it was only 2 weeks ago. Crazy how tiring traveling can be.. walking around cities for hours on end can really wear you out. Not that I’m complaining 😉 but it’s nice to sleep in my “own” bed. Even though right now here in Budapest I am couch surfing and it’s not my own bed, but hey it still feels like home!

Anyways day 2 in Barcelona: I spent most of the day on the beach and a few hours later walking around Parc de la Ciutadella.

I woke up that day excited and ready to go have a relaxing day at the beach. My weather app had said that today would be the warmest and sunniest of all my days in Barcelona. I walked down the steps of the apartment building and to the street only to find white washed out skies and a few sprinkles of rain. Not quite the beach day I had hoped for. Nevertheless, I didn’t let it put a hinder to my plans, so I continued to walk towards the beach.

Photos from El Gotic, the neighborhood I was staying in (click to enlarge).

I read online somewhere that the neighborhood of the beach, Barceloneta, was supposed to be nice to walk through so of course I did that. I was also on a streak of not using the metro. You get to see more if you walk anyways!

Barceloneta

As you can probably tell, both of the neighborhoods are very different. El Gotic with it’s tall brown buildings and narrow cobblestone streets differ a lot from Barceloneta’s wider, more colorful streets. Not to forget there’s a sliver of blue ocean in the distance between the buildings.

As I said earlier, the weather wasn’t the hot sunny day I had been promised. Yet when I arrived to the beach it wasn’t completely awful. This also meant a clear quiet beach to rest on. When I laid down, the sun came out. So glad I decided to go to the beach after all. A few hours later on, the sun was hotter and the beach filled up with people.

Funny that I went from snow up to my waist in Sweden to laying in a bikini on a beach in Barcelona.

For me, theres something about the sound of the water splashing against the pebbles on the shore and the sunshine gives me inspiration to write. So I sat there with my journal, which is just my book of scrap where I occasionally write down little tidbits of things or travels I want to book. Pages and pages filled with potential flights and itineraries.

After I was content with my few pages of writing and just getting some things out, I laid there on the beach just enjoying the sun and Barcelona. I would’ve possibly considered jumping in the water- a few people took a dip- however I didn’t have a real swimsuit so I passed on the idea. I could also imagine that it was quite cold, after all it was only the middle of March.

5 hours later, I decided it was time to get up and walk around again. This time my destination was Parc de la Ciutadella. It was also conveniently right next to where I was staying, so I also was able to start making my way back.

Parc de la Ciutadella

This park was beautiful. I could tell it was the ultimate hangout for people of all ages. Couples laying in the grass, kids playing soccer, people taking their dogs for walks. I loved the energy there, everyone just seemed so happy. Maybe it was just the sunshine!

The park was also huge. The zoo is located here, as well as museums, a small lake, greenhouses, statues and fountains. Also Barcelona has their own Arch of Triumph- called Arc de Triomf and it’s located near this park.

For dinner, I had tapas, which were amazing! I love Spanish food.

Next post: Montjuïc Castle in Barcelona. Coming soon 🙂

Adiós!

Leave a Reply

